Shijiazhuang Education Seminar – 2015

15 10 2015

IMG_1575 Having taught English in China in 2004, when the opportunity to return to Shijiazhuang to deliver a speech at a seminar centred on reading and scientific literacy was presented to me, I was eager to accept.  Then, however, came the practicality of preparing for the speech, preparing for the convoluted route via Hing Kong and preparing to deliver to a room of five hundred teachers.  Shijiazhuang had me immediately nostalgic; the population had grown as much as the skyline but the streets were still quick to smile familiar structures at me and to wink temperate skies.

I stuck to the scriptnotes I had contrived for the translators to follow, referred to Keira Knightly more than anyone has done in literacy lecture and generally bluffed my way through thirty minutes of a twenty minute session by parrying applause-less moments with terrible Chinese.

A success, sort of.  I thought. A former pupil of mine at the school sat beside me, balancing on the arm rest of the chair.

‘It was hard to believe your Chinese could get any worse.  It was also very, very long; luckily, I think you were stood on the microphone wire for most of the second half.’

FullSizeRenderIMG_1574

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 10 2015
smzang

That is a treasure!!

16 10 2015
glynfedwards

Thanks- I need to go through it and correct some spellings, though I’m so jet lagged all I can do is notsleep.

17 10 2015
grimbeau

Yachydacommisar(Ed) Cymru am Byth! Come on you Reds!

17 10 2015
glynfedwards

Amen to all that x

Leave a Reply

