Rubbing

11 12 2012

(Published in Roundyhouse vol.35)

There’s a smudge on the page, I’ve noticed,
from when I sketched
you brushing your hair in the long mirror
with your hands.

This isn’t the sheet i drew
the distant seagulls of your sides
or discovered how your tresses grew
in seven, quick months.

Here. Here, is the tip of elbow you scratched
on the hawthorn by the path. Here
the treasure of freckles, roused
from hibernation.

Near the top of the book the binding loosens,
the spine sags, the sketch a memory.
But the graphite flower had been pressed
enough to leave its reflection.

Behind each word you see here
is a grainy rubbing of your shape.
Dip your fingers into the words and feel
how everything is becoming you.

Actions

Information

14 responses

11 12 2012
redjim99

I love this line:
“the distant seagulls of your sides”

Don’t know why but it just conjures floating shapes for me. The grey and white drift across the sky.

Jim

11 12 2012
glynfedwards

Hi Jim, I like your new story writing blog. I’ll need a proper cup of tea to sit down next to in order to catch up; it’s ace though. The ‘seagull sides’ was a critical comment on how I had exaggerated a gentle curve into an ‘hourglass’ shape as I sketched.

11 12 2012
john todaro

Clever, lovely, and fertile:

“Here. Here, is the tip of elbow you scratched
on the hawthorn by the path. Here
the treasure of freckles, roused
from hibernation.”

12 12 2012
glynfedwards

cheers John.

12 12 2012
beeseeker

loved it! very evocative and sensitively written.

13 12 2012
glynfedwards

thank you. if i had written it today it’d be full of references to vicks, hot water bottles and lemsip. what rhymes with lemsip?

13 12 2012
beeseeker

For some reason the first rhyme that came into my head was gymslip … but I admit it is kinda weird, so forgive me please.

13 12 2012
glynfedwards

Said in a yokel accent… i think that works perfectly. solid relevance also just like thermometers and grandstand.

13 12 2012
glynfedwards

sorry. my brain has been clouded in school and poorly baby. ‘thermometers’ to keep with the lexical field of medicine and grandstand because i was stumped for the least collocating example… sport is my default setting

14 12 2012
isikyus

I like this quite a bit; I wish I were better at describing things in this circumspect way.

I don’t know whether it’s just me, but I get the impression this poem is saying goodbye.

15 12 2012
glynfedwards

that’s probably more apparent than i had intended but maybe so. a goodbye to the first stage of a relationship and the worrisome acceptance of the all consuming second stage.

22 12 2012
Susan L Daniels

This is so well drawn, with beautiful detail. Thanks so much for the follow, and I am going to be reading you now too–I have been missing out!

22 12 2012
glynfedwards

That’s kind. Your Christmas poem was original and subtle; I’ll attack your back catalogue after some sleep.

22 12 2012
Susan L Daniels

Wonderful–and thank you!

Leave a Reply

